Government departments and agencies

A growing number of government departments and agencies are using IELTS results for immigration and student visa applications.

Government agencies requiring IELTS include:

  • Australian Department of Home Affairs
  • Immigration New Zealand Service (NZIS)
  • Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC)
  • United Kingdom Visas and Immigration (UKVI)

General Skilled Migration: The Department of Home Affairs requires applicants to have sufficient ability in English for working in Australia. IELTS is the recognised test of both Vocational and Competent English and points are awarded based on scores achieved. For details visit

Student Visa: IELTS band scores are accepted for Student Visa applications. IELTS requirements for Student Visas vary according to the candidates’ nationality and education sector of their proposed study program. For details, visit

The Department has advised that they do not wish to receive hard copies of IELTS results. Results of IELTS tests can be submitted electronically by providing your IELTS certificate number when asked for a Test Reference Number. This change is due to new privacy legislation in Australia. These new instructions apply for all visa applications to Australia and for all classes of visa from November 2014.

IELTS General Training is accepted by Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) as evidence of English language proficiency. If you are applying for a work visa, professional registration or for permanent residence in Canada, it is likely that you will be required to present your test result as part of your application. IELTS results are also accepted for Canadian citizenship. For details, visit

New Zealand
Immigration New Zealand (NZIS) requires an IELTS Overall Band Score of 6.5 in either the General Training or Academic IELTS Modules. Unless meeting exemption requirements, the IELTS Band Score is mandatory for application in the General skills migration category. For details, visit

United Kingdom
The UK Visas and Immigration (UKVI) is using IELTS for proof of English language ability in the Points Based System (PBS). PBS allows migrants to apply to work or study in the UK via one of five 'tiers'. If applying under Tier 1 or 2, migrants are required to provide proof of English language ability. IELTS is an approved English language test which can provide this proof. For details, visit