It appears that you are in the United States

View in English (United States) Remain on current site

View the website in

English English (United States)

Higher Education Advisory Council

The members of the IELTS USA Higher Education Advisory Council are leaders in their fields in the higher education sector. They represent secondary schools, undergraduate and graduate education, public and private institutions, and the TESOL profession. 

The responsibilities of the Board include but are not limited to:

  • informing the Executive Director and staff about trends in higher education that are relevant to IELTS USA
  • advising the Executive Director and staff about IELTS USA issues, policies, and strategic plans
  • serving as an ambassador for IELTS USA publicly in everyday work situations, and at conferences and meetings
  • assisting the Executive Director and IELTS USA staff with introductions to specific non-recognizing institutions
  • being available to the Executive Director and staff of IELTS USA for individual consultation
  • recommending and recruiting potential Board members.

The inaugural Higher Education Advisory Council meeting took place in 2015, and we had the opportunity to discuss the current state of IELTS in the US and worldwide with representatives from US colleges and universities. The council members offered open and candid feedback on potential new IELTS programs, services, strategic communications, and plans for the future. We look forward to continuing this dialogue with them moving forward.

IELTS USA Higher Education Advisory Council Members

Patriece Campbell

Patriece Campbell

Director of International Programs and Services Millersville University Patriece has more than 15 years of experience in international education.She holds a B.A. from the University of Michigan-Flint, a M.P.A. from Michigan University in Ann Arbor, and a Ph.D. from the University of New England.
April Crabtree

April Crabtree

Assistant Vice Provost University of San Francisco April Crabtree has worked in admission since 2008. Prior to her role at USF, April served as Associate Director of Admission and Coordinator of International Admission at Eckerd College.
Jordan England

Jordan England

Executive Director Foothill De-Anza Community College District Jordan has worked in International Education since 2002.She is a member of the Committee for Europe, the Middle East and Africa with the Council of International Schools.

Andrea Felder

Assistant Vice Provost American University Andrea has been involved in international education for close to 15 years. She holds a B.A. from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; M.Ed. from North Carolina State University; and Ed.D. from North Carolina State University.

Becky Konowicz

Assistant Dean of Undergraduate Admission Santa Clara University Becky Konowicz has worked in enrollment management since 2004. She holds a B.A. from DePauw University and a M.Ed. from Grand Valley State University.

Krista LaVack

Director, International Education & Programs State University of New York at Potsdam Krista has worked in International Education at SUNY Potsdam for over 20 years and has been the College’s IE Director since 2006. Krista earned a B.A. degree from Trent University in Canada, and a M.S.Ed. degree from SUNY Potsdam.

Maria Luis Landry

Director of Admission Tulane University Maria Landry counsels prospective L.L.M. and S.J.D. students through the application process. She holds a law degree from Universidade Catolica de Lisboa – Faculdade de Direito and an L.L.M. from Tulane Law School.

Drew Miller

Director of Admission Cranbrook Schools Drew is responsible for managing the enrollment of 1660 boarding and day students and has been in admissions for more than 35 years. He holds a M.Ed. from the University of Hartford and a B.A. from Hamilton College.
Shelley Saltzman

Shelley Saltzman

Associate Director for Partnerships Columbia University Dr. Shelley A. Saltzman helps assess language ability of incoming students, and designs curricula for schools such as Columbia Law School, the School of Professional Studies, and the School of General Studies.

Costas Solomou

Vice President for Enrollment The State University of New York (SUNY) Geneseo Costas has worked in international education for more than 15 years. He holds a Bachelors degree from St. John Fisher College and a Doctorate in Higher Education from the University of Rochester.
Dean Tsantir

Dean Tsantir

Director of Graduate Admissions University of Minnesota Dean Tsantir’s experience involved international student recruitment and educational technology research. He also has experience working overseas for the Ministry of Education in Chiba City, Japan.

Emilija Zlatkovska

Director of Intensive English Program and Interim Executive Director Center for International Programs University of Southern Indiana Emilija has been active in the field of international education for about 15 years. She holds an MSc and PhD in language education, EFL/ESL from Indiana University, Bloomington.

Former Members:

  • Tom Atkinson, Associate Dean, Graduate School, Purdue University (served 2015-2018)
  • Douglas L. Christiansen, Vice Provost for University Enrollment Affairs, Dean of Admissions and Financial Aid, Vanderbilt University (served 2015-2016)
  • Jane Dunphy, Senior Lecturer, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (served 2015-2019)
  • Aimee Gruber, Senior Director of Outreach & Business Development, Enrollment Management Association (served 2017-2019)
  • Deborah Hefferon, International Education and Cross-cultural Communication Consultant (served 2015-2018)
  • Jason Kahabka, Associate Dean for Administration, Cornell University (served 2015-2018)
  • Tatiana Mackliff, Executive Director of International Education, Miami Dade College (served 2015-2018)
  • Pamela Pollock, Associate Director for Professional and Scholarly Development, Harvard University (served 2019-2020)
  • Fiona Rees, Senior Associate Director of Admission, University of California Los Angeles (served 2015-2016)
  • Steven Shaw, Assistant Vice Provost and Director of International Admissions, University at Buffalo, The State University of New York (served 2015-2019)
  • Timothy Stanne, Assistant Dean for Graduate Admissions, New York University School of Law (served 2015-2019)